Minnie is 10 Years Old Now!

Minnie when she was a kitten.

Kitten Minnie

It’s hard to believe it has been ten years since I had my cat Minnie. On June 16, 2009, God brought Minnie into my life as a tiny kitten. I am so very thankful for God blessing me with my cat who has been such a gift to me. I always wanted my own cat but I didn’t know it would be possible to get my own cat when I lived in Romania.  I am so very grateful that God sees every desire of our heart, He made it possible for me to get my own cat and she has become such a big part of my life over the years.

I am very thankful for my friends Cristina and Evelyne agreeing to me wanting a cat and for them welcoming Minnie into our apartment when she was a kitten. It was also a real blessing to live with my friend Miriam in Romania for 3 years especially to see how much she loved Minnie and took such good care of her too. My heart is filled with so much gratitude for all of the cat sitters that God brought into my life over the years of having Minnie in my life which has been such a blessing to me because without them it wouldn’t have been possible to go on trips like camps, visits to Canada going to Mozambique for the Harvest Mission school and other times.

apartment in Targu Mures

Minnie drinking from the sink

I think it is a pretty special thing to have a pet in your life especially for the companionship they give to you. There were times when I lived in Romania that I struggled with homesickness but having Minnie a part of my life brought a lot of joy and comfort to me. I just love Minnie’s personality of how she wants to be around people. It always gives me a good laugh when I watch her carry this sock toy around and put it in places claiming it is her space. I find it quite unique that she enjoys drinking fresh water from the bathroom sink and how she has trained herself to adjust to different sinks since I had her. She also enjoys being on her window bed looking outside or just having a nap on it.

Minnie and sock toy

Minnie and her sock toy

I am very thankful Minnie has also been my traveling companion, as well throughout the years I had her part of my life. Minnie has already moved with me three times since I had her. The first move was in March 2010, when I moved from Târgu Mureş to Oradea in Romania which was a 5 hour drive in a car. This is when I started serving with Pathway to Joy Ministries. The second move was in May 2013, when I moved back to Târgu Mureş, Romania which was another 5 hour drive but in a truck this time. This was when I joined YWAM. The third move was when I flew back to Canada with Minnie in June 2016. Minnie's passport (front)

I will never forget when I was at the YWAM Amsterdam base in the spring of 2016, for a 6 week course on human trafficking.  I had a huge struggle and question in my heart if God ever called me out of Romania what would happen to Minnie. One evening during one of my weekly small group meetings God gave one of the girls a vision for me that blew me

Minnie's passport (inside)

Minnie’s passport

away to tears. Laura from my small group saw me get up on this big eagle, it took me to different nations and she told me that the eagle represented God. What brought me to tears is when she told me that my cat is sitting on one of my shoulders. Laura told me that God knows I love my cat and I can take her with me too.

It is blows me away to think how personal God is and how He sees every desire of our heart.  I am incredibility grateful of how God worked everything out for me to take Minnie with me when He spoke to me about returning to Canada for a season. I am so very thankful I was able to get the pet passport, her vaccinations done and getting herMinnie and I carrier on time to leave Romania which was a miracle itself. Minnie wasn’t too thrilled about doing the overnight bus ride from Târgu Mureş, Romania to the Budapest airport but she did amazing on our 9 hour flight to Toronto, Canada and pretty much slept the whole time.

I am not exactly sure of how the details will unfold yet of where God is sending me next in missions but I am confident that God is going to take care of everything including bringing Minnie with me. I will like to end this blog by thanking God for giving Minnie to me ten years ago and what a blessing she has been in my life. What about you? How has your pet been a blessing to you?

About Andrea

I am from Whitby, Ontario. I have lived in Romania for 9 years as a missionary but I am currently in Canada on a sabbatical break at this time. I have also lived in South Korea for a year and I have also been to Russia, Uganda, Albania and the Czech Republic on short-term mission trips. In 2012, God also gave me an amazing opportunity to go to Mozambique for the Harvest Mission School with Iris Ministries as well. I love children, reaching out to people who are in need and vulnerable, I have a passion to fight against the injustice issue of human trafficking and to simply share the love of Jesus wherever I go. I also love cats too and I have a cat of my own named Minnie!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment